Career Calling

September 21, 2014

Winter as a Motivation for a Job Search

 

I’ve now been working as a resume writer and career coach for 13 years. It’s not unusual to have one or two clients a year tell me they are looking for a job in a warm weather state. Over the last six weeks, I’ve had five clients tell me some version of “I don’t want to spend another winter in Chicago.”

Some people might say weather is no reason to change one’s job, especially in this economy. I disagree. We should work to live, not live to work. Last winter in Chicago was brutal. For the first time since I moved here in 1986, I understood why some people can’t take cold weather and snow anymore. Thinking about our jobs as careers means that we understand them as part of lives. I admire people who are brave enough to make changes that will make them happy. I feel the same way about clients who are changing jobs to earn more money or have better working conditions. They are taking charge of their jobs and their lives. That’s the best kind of motivation.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

