Career Calling

June 3, 2014

A Cure for Writer’s Block

I was working on a project on Saturday that was especially frustrating.  A client needed a targeted cover letter.  He did a great job of describing why he was a perfect for a new job at a company where he already worked.  I’ve written this kind of letter before and thought it would be a breeze.  So I started writing and got stuck.  I was putting words on a page (screen), but they didn’t say what I wanted.  I’d stop and start again.  After half an hour of getting nowhere, I closed the file, shut down the computer, and went home.

The next day I went to work, which I don’t like to do on Sunday unless I have to.  This time the words rolled and the editing was fast.  I hit all the points my client wanted to make, and the letter sounded good.  After receiving it, he wrote back that no edits were needed.  Sometimes, the best way to deal with writer’s block is to just walk away.  Delete what you’ve written and start over.  It’s hard to throw it all out, but I’ve found that is often the best way to get around a problem.  Start over.  Just make sure you’re giving yourself enough time to meet your deadline.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

