Career Calling

December 17, 2013

“Thank Goodness I Didn’t Get That Job”

In a time when it is difficult to find a good job, it might seem funny to say something like, “Thank goodness I didn’t get that job.” A client made this comment a few days ago, and I immediately agreed with her.  When I was last looking for work in 2000, I interviewed with a company that I thought I really wanted to work for.  The person who would have been my boss was sarcastic and disrespectful throughout the interview.

At first, I felt bad when the company didn’t offer me a position.  Then I thought about what it would have been like to work for such a person.  Sometimes the best jobs are the ones we want but don’t get.  They let us find the places we should be working and the kind of people we should be working with.

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

