Career Calling

October 10, 2013

Looking for a Better Deal

One of my clients, let’s call him Fred, is an executive in his mid-sixties.  He’s told me more than once that he plans to retire at 70, so I was surprised last week when he informed me that he’s interviewing for a new job.  He’s happy with his current position, and he’s been with the company for six years.  When I asked why he’d consider leaving.  Fred answered, “I might get a better deal,” adding that he thinks the new position could pay him as much as $10,000 more a year.

His response opened my eyes.  Even if someone is only going to work for three or for more years, a annual salary increase of $5,000-$10,000 is a lot of money.  Fred then put his decision in a better perspective:  “How do I know what’s out there if I don’t look?  Going on this interview might convince me that my current job is great, or it could give me a chance for something better.”  Throughout his career, Fred has consistently moved when he found a good opportunity.  He didn’t stay with an employer out of a sense of loyalty or, worse still, fear of change.  Over the years, he’s been laid off a few times, but his approach to the job search has always led him to find new opportunities.

My take away from this story is that a smart professional never stops looking for a better deal, especially in an economy where most employers are stingy with raises and generous in giving more work.  Changing jobs can often bring a higher salary and other perks.  It can, as Fred pointed out, also show that the current employer isn’t so bad.  Looking for something new brings perspective, which is good in any aspect of life.  Start looking.  Who knows what you’ll find?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

