Career Calling

July 30, 2012

Sabbath, July 29, 2012

Filed under: Sabbath — claycerny @ 1:34 am
Tags: , ,

[“Sabbath” is this blog’s Sunday feature which wanders beyond the topic of jobs and careers.]

The Agony of My Feet

Yesterday I enjoyed watching the Olympics.  Two of my favorite athletes Keri Walsh and Misty May won their first match in beach volleyball.  Team gymnastics also was fun to watch.  Even when gymnasts make a mistake, they are doing things that are almost superhuman.  I won’t pretend to understand how gymnastics is scored, but it is exciting to watch.

Today I haven’t watched one minute of the competition.  I don’t want to think about sports or competition.  This morning I took the first tennis class of my life.  It was great fun, but it confirmed several things:  I am not coordinated.  I am not a good athlete.  Worst of all, I’m in terrible shape.  We ended the class with a drill in which 3 player lined up and followed each other in returning shots. The drill went on for about 10-15 minutes.  I thought I was going to have a stroke.  Now it’s about 8 hours after the class.  I’m just sore now and a little stiff.  Tomorrow will be hell.

That said, I’m looking forward to next week’s class.  It was fun to learn what I’ve been doing wrong for many years.  Putting the lessons into practice will be another story.  My goal is to learn what I can and have some fun.  It’s a game.

Tomorrow I’ll watch the Olympics again.  Not today, my feet are too sore.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

